WGSA MUSE AWARDS 2016 Finalists

The Writers’ Guild of South Africa (WGSA) takes great pleasure in announcing the finalists for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016, set for 11 February 2017.
At the event, performance writers in film, television, radio, stage and new media industries will gather to recognise and celebrate the integral role played by their peers in the South African entertainment industry.
Since the inaugural WGSA Muse Awards in 2013, this has become the WGSA’s annual, most celebrated event.  On this occasion the focus is on South African Performance Writers, the cornerstones of our SA film industries.  “An award for writers by writers!”

A record number of entries were received for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016, and we would like to thank all the writers who submitted their scripts for consideration. The judging benchmark for this year has been set high, and entries have now been evaluated by the first round judges.  The top three scripts reaching or surpassing the standard set by the minimum judging criteria will make up the finalists.  These screenplays will proceed to the next phase, where the winners will be selected by a new set of judges, which include big name international writers, agents and Writers’ Guild representatives from around the world.
The finalists for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016 are:

Animation (short film, feature film, series): 

Clea Mallinson Fairy Wheels
Julia Smuts Louw Sam The Hedgehog
Paul Ian Johnson and Wayne Thornley Savannah

Documentary (short film, feature film, series):

Lesiba Maphoso Tša Magoši
Uga Carlini Alison

TV Comedy / Sitcom:

Both Worlds Team
Karen Jeynes, Nkuli Sibeko, Chris McEvoy, Thierry Cassuto
Puppet Nation Eps 133
Rous House Team
Joshua Rous, Luke Rous, Meren Reddy
Elke Skewe Pot
Onthatile Matshidiso Grumpy Old Man Series 5 Eps 521

TV Drama:

Julie Hall Tempy Pushas
Salah Sabiti Ya Lla Season 1 Eps 10
Vicki Bawcombe Isikizi Eps 2

TV Drama – spec script:

Ben Johnson Merry Christmas Jabulani
Cilla Lowen The Handyman
Paul Ian Johnson From The Files Of S.I.U.

TV Soaps:

Philane Ndaba Ring Of Lies Eps 43
Salah Sabiti Isidingo Eps 4453
Steven Pillemer Gold Diggers Season 1 Eps 155

Stage Play:

Callum Tilbury, Roland Perold The Pitch
Janet van Eeden The Space Between
Yolanda Mogatusi Yourself Or Someone Like You

Radio Drama:

Lesiba Maphoso O Iphihletseng?
Paul Ian Johnson Vigilante
Tafadzwa Njovana Kundai, The Boy Who Knew It All

Feature Film – spec script:

Steven Pillemer If A Hipster Is Murdered In A Forest
Lesiba Maphoso Mr President
Maruwan Gasant Night Of The Dogs

Short Film:

Gavin Sher Beast
Lindokuhle Buthelezi The Worst In Me
Marina Bekker En Die Wiele Van Die Bus Gaan Om En Om

Best Gauteng Writer:
This award is sponsored by the Gauteng Film Commission. 

Onthatile Matshidiso Grumpy Old Man Series 5 Eps 521
Salah Sabiti Ya Lla Season 1 Eps 10
Sphamandla Madondo Hope

No nominations for finalists were made for Webseries

The WGSA gratefully acknowledges the hard work of the judges from all industry sectors, who participated in this extensive first round and without whom the WGSA Muse Awards will not happen.  This year, our judges were asked to give at least a paragraph of comments / critique, which will be sent in due course to each of the entrants.
First Round Judges:
Ben Johnson, Brigid Olen, David Forbes, Dyllon Campbell, Elsa van Schalkwyk, Eric Bouwer, Francois le Pere, Gershwin Fritz, Helga Barkhuizen, Jabulani Phambala, Jackie Hancke, Jann Acutt, Japie Teunissen, John Hill, Jon Racinskas, Julie Hall, Katleho Ramaphakela, Khobi Ledwaba, Lerato Khnaye, Malcolm Kohll, Maragret Goldsmid, Maruwan Gasant, Liam J Stratton, Matthew Kalil, Mmabatho Montsho, Mogamat Rafeek, Neville Josie, Nick Medupe, Patronella Diedericks (Sello), Pippa Dyer, Rethabile Fanana, Richard Nosworthy, Rosalind Butler, Ryan Yamba, Sanele Zulu, Shirley Johnston, Sihle Hlophe, Takalani Mulaudzi, Theoline Maphutha, Tracey-Lee Rainers, Tshego Monaise, Uga Carlini, Victor Molele. Yolanda Lindeque- Strauss, Yolanda Mogatusi, Zunaid Mansoor

The WGSA Muse Awards ceremony will take place on 11 February 2017 from 17h00 till late at the Market Theatre, Johannesburg.  Tickets for this event are now available at R80 per person and include dinner.

On this, the fourth annual WGSA Muse Awards, WGSA is elated to have M-Net, the Gauteng Film Commission and for the first time, the Kwa-Zulu Natal Film Commission on board as sponsors.  We also wish to acknowledge Veronica Stewart as one of our Prize sponsors.  We still have sponsorship packages available and welcome interested parties to contact us for more information.


The WGSA is proud to announce Ticket Stroom as the 2016 Media Partner for the Muse Awards. 

Unsubscribe | Update Profile | View PDF | Pause Subscription
Email Powered By
NGO Program
This email was sent to wgsanews@gmail.com on 20-12-2016 by Writers' Guild of South Africa
125 3rd Street, Linden, Johannesburg, 2195, 082 575 6901
Writers' Guild of South Africa is intended for opt in communication only. If you feel this email is unsolicited please report it to us.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *