The Writers’ Guild of South Africa (WGSA) takes great pleasure in announcing the finalists for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016, set for 11 February 2017. At the event, performance writers in film, television, radio, stage and new media industries will gather to recognise and celebrate the integral role played by their peers in the South African entertainment industry. Since the inaugural WGSA Muse Awards in 2013, this has become the WGSA’s annual, most celebrated event. On this occasion the focus is on South African Performance Writers, the cornerstones of our SA film industries. “An award for writers by writers!” On this, the fourth annual WGSA Muse Awards, WGSA is elated to have M-Net, the Gauteng Film Commission and for the first time, the Kwa-Zulu Natal Film Commission on board as sponsors. We also wish to acknowledge Veronica Stewart as one of our Prize sponsors. We still have sponsorship packages available and welcome interested to contact admin@writersguildsa.org for more information. A record number of entries were received for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016, and we would like to thank all the writers who submitted their scripts for consideration. The judging benchmark for this year has been set high, and entries have now been evaluated by the first round judges. The top three scripts reaching or surpassing the standard set by the minimum judging criteria will make up the finalists. These screenplays will proceed to the next phase, where the winners will be selected by a new set of judges, which include big name international writers, agents and Writers’ Guild representatives from around the world. The finalists for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016 are: Animation (short film, feature film, series): Clea Mallinson Fairy Wheels Julia Smuts Louw Sam The Hedgehog Paul Ian Johnson and Wayne Thornley Savannah Documentary (short film, feature film, series): Lesiba Maphoso Tša Magoši Uga Carlini Alison TV Comedy / Sitcom: Both Worlds Team Karen Jeynes, Nkuli Sibeko, Chris McEvoy, Thierry Cassuto Puppet Nation Eps 133 Rous House Team Joshua Rous, Luke Rous, Meren Reddy Elke Skewe Pot Onthatile Matshidiso Grumpy Old Man Series 5 Eps 521 TV Drama: Julie Hall Tempy Pushas Salah Sabiti Ya Lla Season 1 Eps 10 Vicki Bawcombe Isikizi Eps 2 TV Drama – spec script: Ben Johnson Merry Christmas Jabulani Cilla Lowen The Handyman Paul Ian Johnson From The Files Of S.I.U. TV Soaps: Philane Ndaba Ring Of Lies Eps 43 Salah Sabiti Isidingo Eps 4453 Steven Pillemer Gold Diggers Season 1 Eps 155 Stage Play: Callum Tilbury, Roland Perold The Pitch Janet van Eeden The Space Between Yolanda Mogatusi Yourself Or Someone Like You Radio Drama: Lesiba Maphoso O Iphihletseng? Paul Ian Johnson Vigilante Tafadzwa Njovana Kundai, The Boy Who Knew It All Feature Film – spec script: Steven Pillemer If A Hipster Is Murdered In A Forest Lesiba Maphoso Mr President Maruwan Gasant Night Of The Dogs Short Film: Gavin Sher Beast Lindokuhle Buthelezi The Worst In Me Marina Bekker En Die Wiele Van Die Bus Gaan Om En Om Best Gauteng Writer: This award is sponsored by the Gauteng Film Commission. Onthatile Matshidiso Grumpy Old Man Series 5 Eps 521 Salah Sabiti Ya Lla Season 1 Eps 10 Sphamandla Madondo Hope No nominations for finalists were made for Webseries The WGSA gratefully acknowledges the hard work of the judges from all industry sectors, who participated in this extensive first round and without whom the WGSA Muse Awards will not happen. This year, our judges were asked to give at least a paragraph of comments / critique, which will be sent in due course to each of the entrants. Our first round judges Ben Johnson, Brigid Olen, David Forbes, Dyllon Campbell, Elsa van Schalkwyk, Eric Bouwer, Francois le Pere, Gershwin Fritz, Helga Barkhuizen, Jabulani Phambala, Jackie Hancke, Jann Acutt, Japie Teunissen, John Hill, Jon Racinskas, Julie Hall, Katleho Ramaphakela, Khobi Ledwaba, Lerato Khnaye, Malcolm Kohll, Maragret Goldsmid, Maruwan Gasant, Liam J Stratton, Matthew Kalil, Mmabatho Montsho, Mogamat Rafeek, Neville Josie, Nick Medupe, Patronella Diedericks (Sello), Pippa Dyer, Rethabile Fanana, Richard Nosworthy, Rosalind Butler, Ryan Yamba, Sanele Zulu, Shirley Johnston, Sihle Hlophe, Takalani Mulaudzi, Theoline Maphutha, Tracey-Lee Rainers, Tshego Monaise, Uga Carlini, Victor Molele. Yolanda Lindeque- Strauss, Yolanda Mogatusi, Zunaid Mansoor The WGSA Muse Awards ceremony will take place on 11 February 2017 from 17h00 till late at the Market Theatre, Johannesburg. Tickets for this event are now available from admin@writersguildsa.org at R80 per person and include dinner. The WGSA is proud to announce our Ticket Stroom as the 2016 Media Partner for the Muse Awards.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *