WGSA MUSE AWARDS 2016: Top Performance Writers

The Writers’ Guild of South Africa (WGSA) recently announced the finalists for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016, set for 11 February 2017. A record number of entries were received for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016, and we would like to thank and congratulate all the writers who submitted their scripts for consideration. Having the courage to submit one’s work to strangers to be evaluated makes each one of you a winner in your own right! This year we also like to announce and celebrate the runner-ups in the various categories reaching or surpassing the standard set by the minimum judging criteria. The runner-ups for the WGSA Muse Awards 2016 are: Animation (short film, feature film, series): Greig Cameron Supa Strikas Jean-Pierre Rousseau Adulteracy Nick Cloete Meertales Mervin Govender Saving Liberty TV Comedy / Sitcom: Julian Koboekae Gauteng Maboneng Eps 314 Mlungisi Mhlanga Downside Up Salah Sabiti Ses Top La Season 3 Eps 19 Veronica Stewart Life Coach Steven Pillemer Ses Top La Season 3 Eps 10 TV Drama: Fidel Namisi Thula’s Vine Eps 1 Salah Sabiti Umlilo Season 4 Eps 2 Ben Johnson Hustle_Homecoming Reabetswe Moeti Lockdown Eps 3 Onthatile Matshidiso What’s Love Got To Do With it Tamara Sheraton Isikizi Eps 11 Julie Hall Hustle Eps 13 Salah Sabiti Sober Companion Eps 4 TV Drama – spec script: Marina Bekker Majou Graham Hickson Man Drowning Sphiwe Nkambule Blood Cries Willem Eric Bouwer Troebel Denke Fidel Namisi Molato Jon Racinskas Exes Jackson Gondo The Tale Of The Union TV Soaps: Julian Koboekae Greed And Desire Eps153 Feature Film – spec script: Paul Ian Johnson In The Garden Of The King Malcolm Kohll Barry Colin Ward The Big Black Bag Joe Spirit Sometimes A Mother Clive Morris Ice Cream For Nene Paul C Venter Consequence Of Fire Sphiwe Nkambule A Life Of Carnage Matthew Griffiths Durban Road Roy Bannister Smiling Monster Vic Abdol Accidental Obsession Sphamandla Madondo Hope Cate Wood Hunter The Transmogrification of St Bunnycrisp Tshepo Skosana Love By Any Other Name Kudakwashe Maradzika Bob Thembani Maluleke Glorius Shooters Malcolm Kohll The Unwanted Clarence Hamilton Reunion Yolande Botha The F Word Rous House 1% Man Zunaid Mosam Taariq Kagiso Keith Katane Father’s Day Shaun Jooste The Space Drifter Jon Racinskas Fritz Mark Engels Masinga Sphamandla Madondo Chained Julie Hall Magic And Mining Matthew Kalil, Raffaella Delle Donne Table View Eubulus Timothy Deep End Steven Pillemer King Of Kwano Daniel Buitendag Can’t Stop Love Yolanda Lindeque-Strauss Sky Unlimited Lesiba Maphoso Katse E Ile Mlungisi Mhlanga When Coconuts Go Bad Short Film: Martyn Armstrong Just out Of Reach Clea Mallinson Crystall’s Water Affair Fazila Kohl Black Dots