WGSA announces 2016/2017 Council and Subcommittees

Press Release For immediate release 29 June 2016 The Writers’ Guild of South Africa held its Annual General Meeting on 16 April 2016 where its members elected the council for 2016/2017. At the first official council meeting on 20 April, the elected council members assigned the various portfolios. In 2012 the WGSA adopted an internal policy to assign the position of chair and co-vice chairs to those who gained the most votes from the membership with the exception of the portfolio for Legal Services and Treasurer; these are reserved for elected officials with specific knowledge of legal matters and finances. However the conditions of the WGSA Constitution as adopted in 2014 still need to be applied. In line with the stipulations within the Constitution, council may also co-opt additional people and form sub-committees to fulfil the need. The WGSA is therefore proud to announce its 2016/2017 council: Chairperson: Sihle Hlophe – Johannesburg Co-Vice Chair – Treasurer and Capacity Building: Ritesh Seecharan – Johannesburg Co-Vice Chair – Professional Development: Matthew Kalil – Cape Town Co-Vice Chair- Communications, Relations, Branding: Mamokuena Makhema – Johannesburg Co-Vice Chair – Legal Services: Anirood Singh – Johannesburg Subcommittee for Legal Services: Peter Michael Goldsmid Richard Harry Nosworthy Communications: Mumtaaz Mohamed-Peerbhay – Cape Town Polani Fourie – Cape Town Benedikt Sebastian – Cape Town Professional Development – Regional Manager –Johannesburg Godisamang Khunou Subcommittee for JHB: Christopher Tifflin Keitumetse Qhali Professional Development – Regional Manager –Pretoria Stanley Bhebhe Subcommittee for PTA: Allan Spijikers Sylvia Malatji Co-opted to Council Professional Development – Regional Manager – Cape Town Clea Mallinson Subcommittee for CT: Lukhanyo Sikwebu Refilwe Mathapelo Mofokeng Co-opted to Council Professional Development – Regional Manager – Soweto Yolanda Mogatusi Subcommittee for Soweto: Siphiwe Mbata Nhlanhla Zitha There were no candidates standing in Durban and the WGSA would like to call upon volunteers in Durban to assist in setting up a Professional Development Subcommittee for Durban. Interested parties may contact our offices. The WGSA is also in need of volunteers who wish to assist with the fundraising and with Professional Development in Cape Town and Johannesburg For more information on council members, please visit our website: writersguildsa.org/council-2016-2017/ END

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *