Produced and Unproduced Works can be submitted!

Following the second very successful WGSA Muse Awards, which culminated in a highly acclaimed awards ceremony in April this year, the 2015 WGSA Muse Awards are about to launch with a bigger, better list of categories and a televised awards ceremony on Saturday, 2 April 2016. The WGSA Muse Awards, launched by the Writers’ Guild of South Africa (WGSA), is the only award in the country that honours the South African Performance Writer exclusively and allows the local content production industry to celebrate and promote the creativity, quality and writing excellence of local writers.

Entries will be accepted for the 2015 WGSA Muse Awards in eight different script categories:

  1. SCREEN (Feature Film, Short Film)
  2. TELEVISION (Drama, Soap, Sitcom/Comedy)
  3. Documentary (Feature, Series, Short)
  4. Stage Play
  5. Radio Drama
  6. Animation (Feature, Series, Short)
  7. Games
  8. Web Series

Unproduced Scripts may be entered in any genre.

A panel of independent judges will be looking for excellence in concept and theme, characterisation, genre, language and style, story and structure, pace, dialogue, and professional format and presentation. Every nominee will receive a personalised Nomination Certificate, and each winner will receive a personalised Winner’s Certificate and a beautiful specially designed WGSA Muse Trophy.

The WGSA is a registered Non-Profit Organisation (NPO) and a Public Benefit Organisation (PBO and is the only organised  industry association in South Africa with the sole purpose of protecting, developing and empowering performance writers in the local film, television, radio, stage, animation and new media (internet – mobile and digital distribution, and gaming) industries. The WGSA is a key member of SASFED (The South African Screen Federation).

The judging process will take place during November 2015 to middle February 2016, with the nominees announced at the end of February 2016. This will be followed by the award ceremony, which will take place on Saturday, 2 April 2016 at the Soweto Theatre.

Entries for the 2015 WGSA Muse Awards open on Tuesday, 1 September 2015 and close at midnight on Sunday, 25 October 2015. All entries have to be submitted online. The online entry system, competition rules and regulations, FAQ and entry details can be found on the WGSA website at https://writersguildsa.org/muse-awards/

GOOD NEWS for DFA and ASA Members

If you are a paid up member of either the DFA and / or ASA (as on 1 October 2015), you may submit your entry.  In stead of using a membership number, just enter DFA member or ASA member.  

NB:  Please note that your membership with DFA / ASA will be verified.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *